Courtesy: Rachel McDaniel
View larger
Tops In The Class
Courtesy: CBU  
Release: 03/21/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

ANN ARBOR, Mich. --- The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches released its annual All Academic Awards on Wednesday. The Lancers had five of their 18 players named to the team.

“When you have five guys step it up in the classroom and really get it done during the tough, rigorous season we had, it is impressive,” said Head Coach Rick Rowland. “It really shows that they have good time management skiils. There is nothing better than bringing in a group of guys that get it done in and out of the pool.”

Chris Vanjoff led the way, earning a “superior” classification by getting a GPA between 3.41-3.70. Vanjoff was a force both in and out of the water for California Baptist University in 2012. He was fourth on the team with 32 goals and 21 steals, and he led the team with 47 assists.

Vanjoff is a senior engineering major who will graduate in four years, unprecedented for engineering majors doubling as student-athletes.

Keith Jizmejian also earned a “superior” classification, and also served as a strong senior leader on the team. Jizmejian’s 40 goals were the third most on the team, and he led the Lancers with 34 steals. 

Kellan Falconieri, Jake Jizmejian and David Rodriguez round out the honors, each picking up an “excellent” classification for earning between a 3.2-3.4 GPA.

“They have learned the art of balancing academics and athletics, and as a coach you can’t ask for much more,” said Rowland.

The ACWPC honors college water polo players across all divisions. CBU’s five athletes honored were more than any other Division II team.



Back to Water Polo (M)

09/06/14 - Water Polo (M)
Into The Blue
09/04/14 - Water Polo (M)
CBU Pooling Together In 2014
08/04/14 - Water Polo (M)
CBU Prepares For Another Go in WWPA
02/13/14 - Water Polo (M)
Powerful Puig

Launch PlayerJoin NowLogin
Friday , October 10
Women's Volleyball vs. Academy of Art - 6:50 pm
Saturday , October 11
Women's Volleyball vs. Notre Dame de Namur - 6:50 pm